Clients From Hell

Icon

feedback alarm

Design Designer : “Hello Mr. Client, here is the mock-up I’ve prepared according to your brief, would you kindly give me some specific feedback about what you like / don’t like and the reasons behind your opinions?”

Mr. Client : “Well, this is OK. But I want something KICK ASS. Go back to the drawing board and give me something FANTASTIC.”

Design Designer : “Mr. Client, you need to be more specific, you told me to copy the this website but because my stupid conscience does not allow me to copy it, I’ve created some variations to the original design and kept the same color scheme because you wanted that. But you need to tell me why is it OK and what do you mean by KICK ASS.”

Mr. Client : “I’ve worked with designers earlier and I don’t like spoon-feeding them. I just give them a brief and then they come up with options for me to choose from – if I don’t like any of the options, they just go back to the drawing board and iterate till I see something I like. It’s as simple as that.”

Wow dude! You seem to have one hell of a sweatshop going there! “… till I see something I like…”. Are you fucking insane? Those other designers might be employees of companies who use you as a creative consultant – I am most definitely not on your payroll and you can take a hike if you’re expecting assembly line work from me.

Why is it that those clients who pay pittance ALWAYS have the maximum number of problems with the design? It’s as if they are suffering from some sort of inferiority complex and just have to show who the boss is – in the end it’s the designer who suffers – too much nonsense for too little money.

Filed under: from HELL

3 Responses

  1. Why is it that those clients who pay pittance ALWAYS have the maximum number of problems with the design?

    it’s true, it’s definately a power thing… ego flexing. mm hmm.

  2. I totally agree – I was recently discussing with a top project management professional – a different profession than design – and he too agreed that the more a client negotiates and the lesser he pays as compared to your regular price – the more difficult it is to work with them!

Leave a Reply

